Planning Commission

  • 7 p.m.
  • Fourth Wednesday of each month, except December
Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available 72 hours prior to the meeting. 

View All Agendas

The Planning Commission consisting of seven members appointed by the mayor. Planning Commission members include:

  • Shelley Boyle, Chair
  • Howard Brody, Vice-Chair
  • Kevin Cheng
  • John Dustin
  • Jeri Wright
  • James Okazaki, Alternate
About the Commission
The Planning Commission is an advisory body to the City Council which is responsible for directing the short and long range growth and development of the City through maintenance and implementation of the City's General Plan.  It is composed of five Commissioners appointed upon the basis of three affirmative votes of members of the City Council, based on nominations from members of the City Council.

In order to implement the General Plan, the Planning Commission is empowered to administer the City's zoning laws, ordinances, rules and regulations which:
    * Regulate the use and appearance of buildings, structures and land.
    * Regulate location, height, bulk, number of stories and size of buildings and structures; the size and use of lots, yards, courts
      and other open spaces; the percentage of a lot which may be occupied by a building or structure; the intensity of land use.
    * Establish requirements for off-street parking.
    * Establish and maintain building setback lines.

The Planning Commission also reviews environmental documents.

Desirable Qualifications
A Planning Commissioner's primary job is to make land use decisions that are consistent with the policies and plans formally adopted by the City Council.  Therefore the first priority of a Planning Commissioner must be to develop decision-making skills and knowledge of City policies.  It is desirable to have training in fields such as planning, architecture, law, civil engineering, geology, economics, or demography.  The Commissioner's job is to weigh the professional input given in staff reports, environmental impact reports, and consultant reports.
Meets on the fourth Wednesday evening of each month at 7:00 P.M. (unless otherwise announced and publicly noticed) in the City Council Chamber of San Marino City Hall at 2200 Huntington Drive.

take action